Pittsburghese

Lazy Day. I didn’t accomplish much, but I had some good eats! I started off with this juicy friend:

White peach from Whole Foods' farmer's market

Lunch was a fun creation…a tofu scramble, refried beans & spicy cheddar wrap:

Under the broiler for a couple minutes...mmm!

All wrapped up served with some pineapple chutney

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I just have to say, besides this wrap being totally yummy, it was sooo easy to put together. You seriously have to buy some of these whole wheat roll-ups from Costco. They are the perfect size and shape to make pretty wraps that look like they came from a restaurant. It’s also important to invest in some good knives if you can. We LOVE our Wusthof set we got from the wedding festivities, especially this bread knife that perfectly slices through sandwiches and roll-ups. Oh, and the tomato knife is also awesome (thanks Janet).

Dinner was an interesting adventure. I decided to try a recipe featuring avocados that was not in guacamole form because that’s the only thing I’ve prepared with this super fruit. I also don’t dive into the pesto world much, so I went for an Avocado Pesto Pasta courtesy of famous vegan chef Chloe Coscarelli.

Avocado, Basil, Seeds and other goodies go in the mix

All mixed up and a pretty green

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

It started off well with the ingredients coming together nicely and making a pretty spread. Unfortunately, the green color of avocados only last a minute, so I spruced it up with some beautiful farmer’s market zucchini and fresh tomatoes:

So vibrant!

Colorful plate

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Verdict…I overcooked the noodles because I was too focused on the pesto :-(. The pesto itself was very creamy but there was something off about the avocado/basil mix. Perhaps it was the sunflower seeds I used instead of pine nuts…I don’t always have recipe ingredients on hand so I often substitute. Maybe this substitution didn’t work out. I applauded hubs’ effort to try it, but I had to make him a second dinner to fill his belly. Oh well, failed attempt.

Today I also learned something very interesting. Did you know there is such a language as Pittsburghese? Well, I didn’t either, but know I’m starting to brush up on my Pittsburghese so I can totally fit in here. I’ve heard “warsher” instead of “washer” and I was asked at the deli counter if I wanted the meat “sliced or chipped.” I’m glad my ex-Detroiter friend warned me about these, otherwise I would have been very confused! I feel like I have so much to learn! Detroit didn’t have it’s own language…

Tomorrow is gearing up to be a very Pittsburgh-y day. I can’t wait to share!

Leave a Reply

