Six Years

Today is a special day. What’s so wonderful about August 3rd you may ask? Well, it’s the hubs and my “dating” anniversary, and today marks 6 years together! We started dating 3 weeks before we went our separate ways to college. So after 4 years of a semi long-distance romance throughout school, a 5-month stint of me in Hungary, a 16-month engagement, and 2 whirlwind months of being married so far, we are here…And we are better than ever! Every day I somehow love that boy more and more, even though I’ve barely seen him since school started last week! OK, enough of the mushy stuff…

What’s almost as important to me as the hubs? Food, of course! Lunch today was fantastic:

 

Smoked Tofu Curry Wrap w/tortilla chips & homemade black bean salsa

I visited the Juice Box Cafe in the Oakland neighborhood. I heard good things about this fresh, healthy cafe and juice bar, and I was NOT disappointed! Did you see my smoked tofu curry wrap? SMOKED TOFU…what a genius idea! It reminded me a lot of smoked cheese, which I love, and the toppings added a little sweetness, a little crunch, and great flavor from the homemade curry dressing. Oh man, I want another right now. The tortilla chips were also great, and I appreciated the homemade black bean salsa, but I prefer mine a bit more spicy. Everything tasted very fresh, though, and did I mention this place is adorable?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

In the afternoon, I checked out another farmer’s market in the greater Pittsburgh area, this time in Export. There are so many farmer’s markets around here, every day of the week, in different neighborhoods. It’s a great thing! This particular market was very simple, with a few produce vendors, and the random biscotti stand, jewelry maker, and BBQ pit. But my favorite part about this one was the prices! They offered incredibly cheap, fresh produce that the sellers grow right in their little backyards. I love supporting those kinds of farmers, especially because they produce on a small scale and probably don’t have to use nasty pesticides while growing. As much as I would like to buy all organic fruits and veg, it’s just not in my budget yet, so this is the next best thing.

 

A small farmer's market on a dirt road next to the train tracks. And you gotta love the shoppers...

BEAUTIFUL produce. look at those colors! (and the giant squash)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And even better was the company I had while shopping! I met up with another wife of a LECOM student who lives in the next town over from me. She’s from Texas, which seems worlds apart from the D, so I bet I have a lot to learn! We have another play date on Thursday to see a farmer’s market in the city. We’re gonna make the rounds and conquer this town!

Leave a Reply

