Happy August!

I can’t believe it’s August 1st. Time has really been flying…Eric and I have already been married 2 months! A lot has happened in that time, and I’m very grateful for all of it. You know what else I’m grateful for? Pizza and ice cream…but more on that later.

Last night, hubs and I went out to dinner with another LECOM student and his wife. They took us to The Green Mango, a contemporary Thai food restaurant. I had seen one in the Regent Square neighborhood and heard good things, so I was happy to find out there is one near us as well. I enjoyed “spicy choo chee tofu” which was as fun to say as it was to eat. Eric also liked his chicken dish, and we both have leftovers for another day, which is always good in my book.

Beyond the food, I also thoroughly enjoyed meeting hubs’ study buddy and his wife because they were very nice, and I felt like we had a lot in common. The wife also writes a blog, which is very interesting and educational, and she speaks Hungarian!!! What are the odds? I love Hungarians, and I love finding them randomly because there aren’t that many of us left, especially those who can speak the language. In fact, I heard an employee at McGinnis Sisters talking about Hungarian the other day, and it warmed my heart ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I had a fun adventure visiting the Patel Brothers Indian grocery store. I had never seen a grocery store full of so many items that I’ve never seen before, but that’s what made it fun!

New to me produce

Lots o' dry goods

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Now on to the important stuff… I’ve been doing some experimenting in the kitchen lately, as you’ve probably noticed, and I came up with great healthy alternatives to 2 of my favorite foods- pizza & ice cream.

Homemade Pizza!

Banana Split Soft-Serve

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Ok, so I didn’t actually come up with the recipes, but I adapted them to my liking and they both turned out great! Besides the ingredients, you really only need one magical appliance…a food processor.

Recipes:

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
2 tsp. active dry yeast
1 tsp. sugar
1 1/4 cups warm water (105-115 degrees)
3 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
3 tsp. EVOO

Directions: Dissolve yeast into warm water and wait until foamy (3-5mins.). Put flour, salt, and 2 tsp. olive oil in food processor and set on “dough” speed. Start to add yeast water as fast as flour will absorb it and process until combined and dough cleans sides of bowl.
Coat dough with remaining olive oil and seal in plastic food storage bag. Let rise for 45 minutes in a warm place.
Voila! After that time, you’re ready to roll out the dough and get your pizza bakin’. This made enough for 2 large pizzas, so I used half of the dough for dinner tonight and froze the rest for later.

Now, are you ready for an even easier recipe? The Banana Split Soft-Serve is ridiculously simple…

Banana Split Soft-Serve
(Serves 1)
1 frozen banana, broken up into chunks (I promise it’s much easier to break it up before you freeze it)
3-5 whole frozen strawberries
1-2 tsp. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions: Add banana pieces into food processor one at a time (so as not to freak out the machine as I first did), alternating with frozen strawberries. Slowly add a tsp. or 2 of water until a smooth, ice-cream like consistency occurs (could take a couple minutes). Scrap sides of bowl as needed. Then add 1 tsp. of choc.chips and pulse a few more times. Top with remaining choc. chips. Done and delicious!

This is obviously not real ice cream but it’s a great healthy and quick non-dairy dessert you could easily whip up when your sweet tooth is calling. And mine usually is. Goodnight ๐Ÿ™‚

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: One Month « Motor City Girl in the Steel City

Leave a Reply

