She’s (Not So) Crafty

I wish I could say I am creative. I’ve had crafty bouts here and there with scrapbooking, but I never picked up drawing, painting, knitting or crocheting, or even sewing.

I prefer giving my opinions and telling people what to do, hence the many product/book/restaurant reviews! When it comes to crafts, I need someone to tell me what to do and show me how. And then they need to be very patient and fix all my screw ups…because that will inevitably happen. And it will shatter my ego. And then I’ll quit the whole damn thing… :-)

So, to avoid that whole mess, I much prefer to support other crafty people. Enter the I Made It! Market. These local craft markets pop up all over Pgh to fulfill all your creative purchasing desires. A couple weeks ago, I toured the I (re)Made It! vendors during GA/GI, and last weekend I shelled out some cash at I Made It! Memorable at a local high school.

Planet Soap

A very crafty high schooler making flowers out of duct tape!

Duct Tape flowers. Amazing! I bought a flower headband, of course.

It's the Cracker Barrel Game (triangle with pegs)! I bought one for the puzzle-loving Hubs

My fave - Jilsy

Reasonably priced and adorable bags. yay!!

I am happy to support other creative people (Planet Soap, BandyWoodworks, Jilsy, etc.) so they can further their business/hobby and grow their ideas. Hey, we’re not all meant to be crafty… :-)

If you like what you see here (and are in/near Pgh), you should totally check out Handmade Arcade this weekend. These pics are just a taste of the over 100 vendors that will be downtown on Saturday! I am so sad I won’t be around for this giant craft fair, but I suppose my wallet will be happy…

P.S. Keep entering my Happy Herbivore Cookbook giveaway! Contest ends at 11:59pm tonight! Winner will be announced tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 14:55:34

    Love your blog, can’t believe it just found it considering i’m a local foodie/healthie like you! Feel free to check out my blog too, adding you to my “following” list now :)

    Hope to meet up sometime, talk to you soon!

    Rick

    Reply

  2. emily
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 15:35:26

    looks like a great time! sadcakes that you won’t be around this weekend, it’s a big crafty fun fest with Handmade Arcade AND another I Made It! Market.

    Reply

  3. Chubby Vegan
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 22:18:12

    Hi & Hello from another PGH Vegan Food Blogger!

    Just found you from Veggie Burgher!

    I am going to try and make it too the I Made it Market this weekend, i have heard so many awesome things about it!

    CV (JP)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

